BFA is a degree in fine arts. You learn to paint, sculpt or design and also study art history. It leads to work as an artist, designer or art teacher. Some universities offer it under names such as BVA (Bachelor of Visual Arts).
According to the CUET UG 2026 data, 7 central universities list a BFA or similar course, including BHU, the University of Delhi (DU), the University of Allahabad and Assam University, Silchar (AUS). The Fine Arts paper, English and the General Aptitude Test are asked most often. Hindi also appears.
Some rules add a practical step. BHU asks for the Fine Arts paper and then holds a practical exam, and the final merit combines both. DU asks for a language paper, the General Aptitude Test and a practical-based test at the College of Art. AUS asks for English, the General Aptitude Test and Fine Arts. CUHP lists only Fine Arts. Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya asks for Hindi or English plus the General Aptitude Test.
Tip: take the Fine Arts paper along with the General Aptitude Test, and prepare for the practical test.
BFA (Fine Arts) by subject
CUET papers asked for BFA (Fine Arts)
Most common first. Practise them free:
7 universities offering BFA (Fine Arts)
BVA Applied Art
CUET: English, the General Aptitude Test and Fine Arts/Visual Arts
▸ Eligibility and selection
10+2 with at least 45% aggregate. Relaxation as per Government of India rules.
Selection: Merit is based on the NTA-CUET score.
BVA Painting
CUET: English, the General Aptitude Test and Fine Arts/Visual Arts
▸ Eligibility and selection
10+2 with at least 45% aggregate. Relaxation as per Government of India rules.
Selection: Merit is based on the NTA-CUET score.
BVA Sculpture
CUET: English, the General Aptitude Test and Fine Arts/Visual Arts
▸ Eligibility and selection
10+2 with at least 45% aggregate. Relaxation as per Government of India rules.
Selection: Merit is based on the NTA-CUET score.
BFA Applied Arts
CUET: Fine Arts/Visual Arts (Sculpture/Painting) (312).
▸ Eligibility and selection
10+2 or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate. Age: not more than 22 years on 1 July 2026.
Selection: Final merit combines CUET UG and a practical examination conducted at BHU.
BFA Painting
CUET: Fine Arts/Visual Arts (Sculpture/Painting) (312).
▸ Eligibility and selection
10+2 or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate. Age: not more than 22 years on 1 July 2026.
Selection: Final merit combines CUET UG and a practical examination conducted at BHU.
BFA Plastic Arts (Pottery and Ceramic)
CUET: Fine Arts/Visual Arts (Sculpture/Painting) (312).
▸ Eligibility and selection
10+2 or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate. Age: not more than 22 years on 1 July 2026.
Selection: Final merit combines CUET UG and a practical examination conducted at BHU.
BFA Textile Design
CUET: Fine Arts/Visual Arts (Sculpture/Painting) (312).
▸ Eligibility and selection
10+2 or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate. Age: not more than 22 years on 1 July 2026.
Selection: Final merit combines CUET UG and a practical examination conducted at BHU.
BFA Painting
CUET: Fine Arts.
▸ Eligibility
Not stated in the NTA list.
BFA Sculpture
CUET: Fine Arts.
▸ Eligibility
Not stated in the NTA list.
BFA
CUET: Hindi or English (one language paper) plus the General Aptitude Test
▸ Eligibility
10+2 in any discipline with at least 45% aggregate (or equivalent CGPA/grade) for UR, EWS and OBC candidates; 5% relaxation for SC, ST and PwD candidates.
BFA
CUET: Any one of the 26 domain papers (codes 301 to 326).
▸ Eligibility and selection
Pass in Class XII/10+2/Intermediate from any Board, Council or University in India, or a foreign qualification recognised as equivalent by the AIU.
Selection: Offered by the university itself.
BFA
CUET: English or Hindi, the General Aptitude Test, and any one domain subject from the full list of 23 domain papers
▸ Eligibility
10+2 or equivalent in any stream from the U.P. Board, CBSE, ICSE or any State Board.
BFA
CUET: One List A language plus the General Aptitude Test, and a practical-based test.
▸ Eligibility and selection
Not stated in the NTA list. Candidates must appear in CUET (UG) 2026 in the subjects in which they are appearing or have passed Class XII.
Selection: Candidates must appear in both CUET and the practical-based test conducted by the College of Art. Merit combines the CUET score (50%) and the practical test score (50%). The Art History specialisation is tested on Analysis/Premise and View/Critique; the other five specialisations on Drawing and the relevant specialisation (50:50).
No course matches your search.
Frequently asked questions
▸Which CUET subjects are needed for BFA?
The Fine Arts paper is the most common, usually with English or Hindi and the General Aptitude Test. It varies by university. Some list a Fine Arts paper alone, while others let you pick any domain subject.
▸Is a practical test required for BFA through CUET?
At some universities. BHU holds a practical exam and combines it with the CUET score. DU requires a practical-based test at the College of Art. Check each university's notice.
▸Can a Commerce or Science student apply for BFA?
Often yes. Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya accepts 10+2 in any discipline and the University of Allahabad accepts any stream. The percentage rules differ, such as 45% at AUS and 50% at BHU.
▸Which central universities offer BFA through CUET?
7 central universities list it for CUET UG 2026: AUS, BHU, CUHP, Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, RGU, the University of Allahabad and DU.
About this data
Taken from the official NTA list of participating central universities for CUET UG 2026 (the latest list published). Courses, CUET subjects and eligibility can change each year, so confirm with the CUET UG 2027 list and the university's admission notice when NTA publishes them.