BA Philosophy is a degree in thinking about big questions: what is true, what is right, how we reason and what makes a good life. You read Indian and Western thinkers, and the course builds reading, writing and argument skills useful for further study and many careers.
For CUET UG 2026, 8 central universities list BA Philosophy: AMU, BHU, IGNTU, MZU, Nagaland University, NEHU, Pondicherry University and DU. The most common pattern is a language paper plus the General Aptitude Test. AMU asks for the English language paper plus the General Aptitude Test, and BHU asks for English or Hindi plus the General Aptitude Test. IGNTU and Pondicherry University ask for the General Aptitude Test alone. MZU and Nagaland University ask for English only. DU asks for language papers plus List B subjects.
Most of the eligibility lines do not name a Class 12 stream, so Arts, Commerce and Science students can usually apply. BHU sets an age limit of 22 years on 1 July 2026. A language paper and the General Aptitude Test cover most of the options.
CUET papers asked for BA Philosophy
Most common first. Practise them free:
8 universities offering BA Philosophy
BA (Hons) Philosophy
CUET: English language paper plus the General Aptitude Test
▸ Eligibility
Class 12 (Senior Secondary School Certificate) or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate marks; or a degree/Sanad from an AMU-recognised institution or Madarsa with at least 50%; or the AMU Bridge Course certificate with 50% aggregate.
BA (Hons) Philosophy
CUET: English (101) or Hindi (102) language test, plus the General Aptitude Test (501).
▸ Eligibility
10+2 or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate. Age: not more than 22 years on 1 July 2026.
BA (Hons) Philosophy
CUET: General Aptitude Test (501).
▸ Eligibility
10+2 in any subject with at least 45% aggregate (or equivalent CGPA/grade) for General, EWS and OBC; 40% for SC/ST/PwD.
BA Philosophy
CUET: English
▸ Eligibility
Passed Class XII or equivalent with 50% marks for General/OBC candidates and 45% for SC/ST/PwD candidates.
BA Philosophy
CUET: English
▸ Eligibility
Passed 10+2 or an equivalent examination from a recognised university or board, in any stream.
BA (Hons) Philosophy
CUET: English plus the General Aptitude Test
▸ Eligibility and selection
Passed Class XII in the stream concerned from any recognised board in India, or an examination the University considers equivalent.
Selection: Four-year undergraduate programme (Honours). The source does not state whether the Honours degree is BA or BSc.
BA (Hons) Philosophy
CUET: General Aptitude Test.
▸ Eligibility
Pass in +2 with a minimum of 50% marks.
BA (Hons) Philosophy
CUET: One List A language plus three List B subjects, or two List A languages plus two List B subjects.
▸ Eligibility and selection
Not stated in the NTA list. Candidates must appear in CUET (UG) 2026 in the subjects in which they are appearing or have passed Class XII.
Selection: Merit is based on the best CUET score from any of the allowed combinations.
No course matches your search.
Frequently asked questions
▸Which CUET subjects are needed for BA Philosophy?
Most universities ask for a language paper, usually English or Hindi, plus the General Aptitude Test. Some ask for English only or the General Aptitude Test only. DU uses a language plus List B subjects.
▸Can a Science or Commerce student apply for BA Philosophy?
Yes at several universities. IGNTU accepts 10+2 in any subject and Nagaland University accepts any stream. Check each university's eligibility.
▸Which central universities offer BA Philosophy through CUET?
Eight: AMU, BHU, IGNTU, MZU, Nagaland University, NEHU, Pondicherry University and DU.
▸Is the General Aptitude Test compulsory for BA Philosophy?
At most of them, yes. AMU, BHU, IGNTU, NEHU and Pondicherry University list it. MZU and Nagaland University ask for English only, and DU uses language and List B subjects.
Related courses
About this data
Taken from the official NTA list of participating central universities for CUET UG 2026 (the latest list published). Courses, CUET subjects and eligibility can change each year, so confirm with the CUET UG 2027 list and the university's admission notice when NTA publishes them.