BA Urdu is a language and literature degree. You study Urdu poetry, prose and grammar, and the history of the language in India.
In CUET UG 2026, 3 central universities list BA Urdu: BHU, JMI and DU. BHU asks for English or Hindi plus the General Aptitude Test. JMI asks only for the Urdu paper. DU asks for Urdu plus three other subjects, or Urdu, another language and two subjects. DU also accepts other language combinations, but only if seats remain after candidates with the Urdu combinations.
BHU asks for 50% in Class 12 and an age of not more than 22 years on 1 July 2026. JMI asks for 45% in aggregate or 50% in the subject concerned. DU's eligibility is not stated in the NTA list. Tip: the Urdu paper helps at JMI and DU, while English or Hindi plus the General Aptitude Test covers BHU.
CUET papers asked for BA Urdu
Most common first. Practise them free:
3 universities offering BA Urdu
BA (Hons) Urdu
CUET: English (101) or Hindi (102) language test, plus the General Aptitude Test (501).
▸ Eligibility
10+2 or equivalent with at least 50% aggregate. Age: not more than 22 years on 1 July 2026.
BA (Hons) Urdu
CUET: Urdu
▸ Eligibility and selection
Senior Secondary School Certificate or equivalent with at least 45% marks in aggregate, or 50% marks in the subject concerned.
Selection: JMI programme code B35.
BA (Hons) Urdu
CUET: Urdu plus three List B subjects, or Urdu, another language and two subjects. Other language combinations count only if seats remain.
▸ Eligibility and selection
Not stated in the NTA list. Candidates must appear in CUET (UG) 2026 in the subjects in which they are appearing or have passed Class XII.
Selection: Merit is based on the best CUET score from any of the allowed combinations. Candidates using the other-language combinations (any one language plus three subjects, or any two languages plus two) are considered only if seats remain after candidates using the Urdu combinations.
No course matches your search.
Frequently asked questions
▸Which CUET subjects are needed for BA Urdu?
It depends. BHU needs a language paper (English or Hindi) plus the General Aptitude Test. JMI needs the Urdu paper. DU prefers Urdu plus three other subjects, or Urdu, another language and two subjects.
▸Is the Urdu paper compulsory for BA Urdu through CUET?
At JMI, yes. At DU, candidates using the Urdu combinations are considered first. BHU does not ask for an Urdu paper.
▸Is the General Aptitude Test needed for BA Urdu?
Only at BHU, where it is asked with an English or Hindi language paper.
▸Which central universities offer BA Urdu through CUET?
3 are listed for CUET UG 2026: BHU, JMI and DU.
Related courses
About this data
Taken from the official NTA list of participating central universities for CUET UG 2026 (the latest list published). Courses, CUET subjects and eligibility can change each year, so confirm with the CUET UG 2027 list and the university's admission notice when NTA publishes them.